Search

Academic Staff

Overview

Assoc Prof Francesca Little

Position: Head of Department

Research Interests: Biostatistics; Generalized linear and nonlinear mixed effect models; Survival Analysis
 
Email: Francesca.Little@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 5.36

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 3225

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

Web Page: View Profile
 
Assoc Prof Res Altwegg

Position: Associate Professor

Research Interests: Statistical Ecology; Wildlife Demography
 
Email: Res.Altwegg@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 6.72

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 5750

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

Web Page: View Profile
 

Emeritus Prof Anestis Antoniadis

Position: Honorary Research Associate

Web page: View Profile

 

 

 

Prof Graham D. Barr

Position: Professor

Research Interests: Econometrics; Financial Modelling; Sports Statistics; Games of Chance; Problem Gambling and its Treatment
 
Email: Graham.Barr@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 6.66

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 3217

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

Web Page: View Profile
 
Emeritus Prof David J. Bradfield

Position: Professor Emeritus

Research Interests: Financial modelling and statistics
 
Email: David.Bradfield@uct.ac.za

Web Page: View Profile
 
Mr Stefan Britz

Position: Lecturer

Research Interests: Sports Statistics, Bayesian Hierarchical Modelling, Multivariate Analysis
 
Email: stefan.britz@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 5.51

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 5905

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

Web Page: View Profile
 
Dr Greg Distiller

Position: Senior Lecturer

Research Interests: Statistical ecology
 
Email: Greg.Distiller@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 6.67

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 4789

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

Web Page: View Profile
 
Assoc Prof Ian Durbach

Position: Adjunct Associate Professor

Research Interests: Multi-criteria decision analysis; Behavioural decision making
 
Email: Ian.Durbach@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 5.53

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 5058

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

Web Page: View Profile
 
Mr Allan E. Clark

Position: Senior Lecturer

Research Interests: Bayesian analysis; Extreme value theory; Time series analysis
 
Email: Allan.Clark@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 5.50

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 3228

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

Web Page: View Profile
 
Dr Sebnem Er

Position: Lecturer

Research Interests: Time series analysis, panel data, spatial statistics
 
Email: sebnem.er@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 5.55

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 4766

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

Web Page: View Profile
 
Dr Birgit Erni

Position: Senior Lecturer

Research Interests: Environmetrics; Statistical Ecology
 
Email: Birgit.Erni@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 6.64

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 3222

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

Web Page: View Profile
 
Assoc Prof Tim Gebbie

Position:  Associate Professor

Research Interests: Machine Learning in Finance, Market Microstructure and Market Ecology, Data Analysis and Data Science of High Frequency Financial Market Data, and Model Calibration
Email: tim.gebbie@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 5.39

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 4020

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773
Dr Freedom N. Gumedze

Position: Senior Lecturer

Research Interests: Biostatistics: generalized and linear mixed models, longitudinal data analysis, meta analysis and survival analysis.
 
Email: Freedom.Gumedze@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 6.63

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 4783

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

Web Page: View Profile
 
Emeritus Prof Linda M. Haines

Position: Professor Emeritus

Research Interests: Optimal design; Statistical modelling
 
Email: Linda.Haines@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 5.48

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 4333

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

Web Page: View Profile
 
Mr Chun-Kai Huang

Position: Lecturer

Research Interests: Exchangeability; Moment Problems; Extreme Value Theory; Multiple-Phase Sampling; Statistical Applications to Financial Data
 
Email: chun-kai.huang@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 5.41

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 3758

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

Web Page: View Profile
 
Emeritus Assoc Prof June Juritz

Position: Associate Professor Emeritus


 
Email: June.Juritz@uct.ac.za



 
Dr Reshma Kassanjee

Position: Statistical Consultant

Research Interests: HIV Incidence Estimation
 
Email: Reshma.Kassanjee@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 6.70

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 4785

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

 
Mr Dominique Katshunga

Position: Lecturer

Research Interests: Generalized linear models
 
Email: Dominique.Katshunga@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 5.49

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 4669

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 3223

Web Page: View Profile
 
Dr Miguel Lacerda

Position: Senior Lecturer

Research Interests: Bioinformatics; Stochastic processes
 
Email: Miguel.Lacerda@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 5.54

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 3223

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

Web Page: View Profile
 
Mr Tim Low

Position: Senior Lecturer in Mathematics & Statistics for the Education Development Unit

Research Interests: Mathematical & Statistical Education; Soft Operations Research
 
Email: Tim.Low@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 5.56

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 4301

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

Web Page: View Profile
 
Mr Melusi Mavuso

Position: Lecturer

Research Interests: Financial hedging, the Calculus of Variations, Probability Theory, and Machine Learning
Email: Melusi.Mavuso@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 5.64

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 5229

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773
 
Mr William Msemburi

Position: Lecturer

Research Interests: Health Statistics, Bayesian Hierarchical Modelling, Statistical Demography, Data Visualisation
Email: William.Msemburi@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 5.63

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 1620

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773
 
Mr Mzabalazo Ngwenya

Position: Lecturer

Research Interests: Ecological Modelling, Statistical Machine Learning, Computational Statistics
Email: mzabalazo.ngwenya@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 6.65

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 2539

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773
Dr Juwa Nyirenda

Position: Senior Lecturer


 
Email: Juwa.Nyirenda@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 6.68

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 4786

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 3223
 
Dr Etienne Pienaar

Position: Lecturer

Research Interests: Diffusion Processes, Stochastic Processes, Machine Learning
Email: etienne.pienaar@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 4.43

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 2784

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773
Assoc Prof Leanne Scott

Position: Associate Professor

Research Interests: Operations Research, Decision Modelling, Statistics Education, Public Sector Decision Making
 
Email: Leanne.Scott@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 5.66

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 5740

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

Web Page: View Profile
 
Dr Sheetal P. Silal

Position: Senior Lecturer

Research Interests: Infectious Disease Modelling; Population and Individual-based simulation modelling
 
Email: Sheetal.Silal@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 5.52

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 5321

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

Web Page: View Profile
 

Prof Alfred Stein

Position: Honorary Research Associate

Web Page: View profile

 

 

 

Emeritus Prof Theodor Stewart

Position: Professor Emeritus

Research Interests: Operations research; Decision analysis; Multiobjective optimization; Natural resources management
 
Email: Theodor.Stewart@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 5.62

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 3224

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

Web Page: View Profile
 
Mr Karl Stielau

Position: Senior Lecturer


 
Email: Karl.Stielau@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 5.45

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 3376

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773


 
Emeritus Assoc Prof Christien Thiart

Position: Associate Professor Emeritus

Research Interests: Spatial modelling; Spatial Statistics; GIS
 
Email: Christien.Thiart@uct.ac.za

Web Page: View Profile
 
Dr Melvin M. Varughese

Position: Adjunct Senior Lecturer

Research Interests: Stochastic Processes; Ecological modelling; Astrostatistics
 
Email: Melvin.Varughese@uct.ac.za

Web Page: View Profile
 
Mr Neil Watson

Position: Lecturer

Research Interests: Sports Statistics, Operations Research, Operational Research for Development
 

Email: nm.watson@uct.ac.za

Office: PD Hahn 5.67

Tel: +27 (0)21 650 4017

Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4773

Web Page: View Profile